Board of Directors

The Planning Council is a 501(c)(3) non-profit community-planning corporation governed by a volunteer regional Board of Directors.  We thank these dedicated supporters of quality childcare and community planning and engagement.


Ms. Oneiceia Howard – Chairwoman

Mr. Anthony D. Sandifer – Vice Chair

Mr. Carter Smith – Secretary

Ms. Angela Kerns, CPA, HCCP – Treasurer


Executive Committee:

Ms. Valerie Langhorne – Immediate Past Chairwoman

The Honorable J. Samuel Glasscock

Mr. Greg Grootendorst

Mr. James R. Herndon

Mr. Richard J. Knox, Jr.

Ms. J. Gail Nicula, Ph.D.

Ms. Anne Odell

RADM Byron E. “Jake” Tobin (Ret.)

Ms. Eva Wiggins

Jo Ann Short, Ex Officio

Advisory Advisory Board Members:

The Honorable Paul J. Battle

Ms. Shameka Council

Ms. Nicole Brown-Griffin

Ms. Cydney Claren Robinson

The Honorable Martin Thomas, Jr.

The Honorable John M. de Triquet, M.D.

The Honorable Sabrina Wooten

Senior Management

The Planning Council has a long history of exceptional leadership across the organization, supported by a team of professionals and staff dedicated to helping people and communities improve their quality of life.

The Planning Council staff includes expertise in the human services needs in everything from quality childcare to homelessness prevention best practices, from nutrition and obesity prevention training to community assessments and programs, from grant writing services to connecting landlords to qualified families in need of housing.

Jo Ann Short – President and CEO (extension 3008)

Kimberly Malone – Chief Financial Officer (extension 3012)

Julie Dixon – Senior Director of Planning and Program Development (extension 3002)

Monique Adams – Senior Director of Children’s Services (extension 3022)